Executive Committee

Cornell University

Elizabeth A. Bihn, Ph.D.
PSA Director 
Cornell University

Donna Clements, M.S. 
PSA Coordinator
Cornell University

US Food and Drug Administration

Samir Assar, Ph.D.
Director of the Division of Produce Safety 
FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN)

Fazila K. Shakir, MHS
Regulatory Cooperation & Partnerships Manager
International Affairs Staff
FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN)

US Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Marketing Service

Jennifer A. Dougherty
Chief, Audit Services Branch
Specialty Crop Program
Fresh Products Branch

Audrey Draper
Liaison to FDA on Produce Safety
Specialty Crop Program
FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition 

Ken Petersen
Associate Deputy Administrator
Specialty Crop Program

US Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service 

Lindsay Haines

Karen Lowell, Ph.D.

Steering Committee

  • Byron Beerbower — Consumer Safety Officer, Office of Regulatory Affairs, Produce Safety Network
  • Erik Bungo — Program Supervisor, Produce Safety Program, VA Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services
  • Patricia Carrillo — Executive Director, Agriculture and Land-Based Training Association 
  • Natalie Dyenson — Chief Food Safety & Regulatory Officer, International Fresh Produce Association
  • Bob Ehart — Senior Policy & Science Advisor, National Association of State Departments of Agriculture
  • Connie Fisk Produce Safety Program Manager, Washington State Department of Agriculture
  • Robert Hadad — Cornell Cooperative Extension
  • Annalisa Hultberg — Statewide Extension Educator, University of Minnesota
  • Craig Kahlke — Extension Educator, Cornell Cooperative Extension
  • Wesley Kline — Agricultural Agent, Cumberland County - New Jersey
  • Anita MacMullan — Agriculture Program Specialist, NC Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services
  • Colleen Mattingly —  International Policy Analyst, FDA Office of International Engagement
  • Brenda Morris — Director of Produce Safety, Association of Food and Drug Officials
  • Joe Reardon —  Director of Food Safety, National Association of State Departments of Agriculture
  • Brian Reeves — Reeves Farms
  • Sonia Salas — Assistant Vice President, Science, Western Growers
  • Steve Schirmer – Produce Safety Field Administrator, New York State Department of Agriculture & Markets
  • Keith Schneider — Professor, University of Florida 
  • Michelle Smith Senior Policy Analyst, FDA Center for Food Safety& Applied Nutrition
  • Michael Villaneva — Technical Director, California Leafy Green Marketing Agreement (retired)
  • Jonas Yoder Yoder's Produce

Working Committees

In 2011-2012 the following 10 Working Committees held 72 meetings with 178 participants:

  1. Core Curriculum/General Topics
  2. Core Curriculum/Hazards & Preventive Controls — Common Issues
  3. Core Curriculum/Hazards & Preventive Controls — Farm Review
  4. Core Curriculum/Hazards & Preventive Controls — Production
  5. Core Curriculum/Hazards & Preventive Controls — Harvest
  6. Core Curriculum/Hazards & Preventive Controls — Postharvest Handling
  7. Train the Trainer Lesson Plan
  8. Education Outreach Program Delivery — Farmers & Trainers
  9. Education Outreach Program Delivery — Regulators & Trainers
  10. Certification-related activities

We would like to extend a great deal of gratitude to all the members who were dedicated to the WC process and provided insightful feedback and information towards the PSA's curriculum development. A special thanks to our working committee co-chairs who provided great leadership and dedication throughout the process and played a key role in the development of the curriculum.

If you have any questions about the working committees or would like to see any of the notes or summaries, please contact Donna Clements at dmp274 [at] (dmp274[at]cornell[dot]edu).