Back

Discover CALS

See how our current work and research is bringing new thinking and new solutions to some of today's biggest challenges.

Academic Dates and Deadlines

Key dates* for the Fall 2020 and Spring 2021 semesters. Physical Education (PE) & Cornell Outdoor Education (COE) PE & COE have different deadlines and enrollment policies. Refer to their website for more information https://pe.cornell.edu/deadlines and https://coe.cornell.edu/physical-education-courses.

  Date Event
  September 23, Wednesday 7-week 1 Drop Ends
  October 2, Friday Last day to Add CALS Special Studies course (independent study, research, teaching assistant).  Petitions to add will not be accepted after October 2nd; there are no exceptions.
  October 14, Wednesday No classes
  October 21, Wednesday - December 16, Wednesday 7-week 2 session
  October 29, Thursday 7-week 2 Add Ends
  October 29, Thursday

Last Day to Drop a Class Without a "W"
Last Day to Change Grade Option from S/U to Letter or from Letter to S/U.  Petitions to change the grading option will not be accepted after October 29th; there are no exceptions.

  November 11, Wednesday 7-week 2 Drop Ends
  October 30, Friday - December 4, Friday The window that a "W" will appear on the Transcript for Classes withdrawn by request.  Petitions to withdraw will not be accepted after December 4; there are no exceptions.
  November 14, Saturday - 16, Monday Semi-final study days - No classes
  November 17, Tuesday - 24, Tuesday Semi-final exams - No classes
  November 25, Wednesday - 29, Sunday Thanksgiving Break
  November 25, Wednesday Students transition home and leave campus
  November 30, Monday Instruction resumes - All classes online
  December 16, Wednesday      Deadline to apply for internal transfer or concurrent degree
  December 16, Wednesday Last Day of Instruction
  December 17, Thursday Grade rosters created
  December 17-21, Saturday Online Final Exams
  December 21, Saturday Last Day of the semester
  December 31, Monday December degree date

Spring 2021: Important Academic Dates

Please check back for full Spring Calendar

Date Event
February 8, Monday Classes Begin
March 9, Tuesday - March 10, Wednesday Wellness Days - No Classes
March 29, Monday 7-week 2 Classes Begin
April 23, Friday - April 26, Monday Wellness Days - No Classes
April 27, Tuesday Instruction Resumes
May 14, Friday Last Day of Classes
May 15, Saturday - May 18, Tuesday Study Period
May 19, Wednesday First Day of Scheduled Exams
May 25, Tuesday Last Day of Scheduled Exams
May 30, Sunday Commencement/May Degree Conferral Date

 

All dates are subject to change.  https://registrar.cornell.edu/calendar/2020-2021