Back

Discover CALS

See how our current work and research is bringing new thinking and new solutions to some of today's biggest challenges.

Academic Dates and Deadlines

Fall 2022: Important Academic Dates

Date Event
Physical Education (PE) &
Cornell Outdoor Education (COE)

PE & COE have different deadlines and enrollment
policies. Refer to their website for more information
https://pe.cornell.edu/deadlines &
https://coe.cornell.edu/physical-education-courses

September 2, Thursday 7 Week 1 Add Ends
September 6, Monday Labor Day - No Classes
September 9, Thursday

Last day to Add a Class
Last Day to Change Credit Hours for variable credit classes

September 23, Thursday 7 Week 1 Drop Ends
7 Week 1 Change Grade Option Ends
October 1, Friday Last day to Add CALS Special Studies Course (independent study, research, teaching assistant). Petitions to add will not be accepted after October 1; there are no exceptions.
October 9, Saturday - October 12, Tuesday Fall break - No classes
October 20, Wednesday 7 Week 2 session Classes Begin
October 21, Thursday - November 6, Saturday Mid-Term Evaluations Conducted (includes 7 Week 1 classes)
October 21, Thursday Last Day to Drop a Class Without a "W"
Last Day to Change Grade Option From S/U to Letter or From Letter to S/U.
Petitions to change grading option after October 21 will not be accepted; there are no exceptions.
October 22, Friday First day a "W" will appear on the official Transcript for classes withdrawn by petition
October 22, Friday Spring 2022 Class Roster Published
October 27, Wednesday 7 Week 2 Add Ends
Nov 3, 8 am - Nov 4, 11:59 pm Graduate/Professional/Cornell Tech Pre-enrollment Date
Nov 4, 8 am - Nov 5, 11:59 pm UG and Vet Med Seniors Pre-enrollment Date
Nov 8, 8 am - Nov 9, 11:59 pm UG and Vet Med Juniors Pre-enrollment Date
Nov 9, 8 am - Nov 10, 11:59 pm UG and Vet Med Sophomores Pre-enrollment Date
Nov 10, 8 am - Nov 11, 11:59 pm UG and Vet Med First-Years Pre-enrollment Date
November 17, Wednesday 7 Week 2 Drop Ends
7 Week 2 Change Grade Option Ends
November 24, Wednesday - November 28, Sunday Thanksgiving Break - no classes
TBA End of Semester Evaluations Conducted
December 7, Tuesday Last day to withdraw from a class by petition with a "W" appearing on the official Transcript. Petitions to withdraw will not be accepted after December 7; there are no exceptions.
December 7, Tuesday Last Day of Instruction
TBA Grade rosters created
December 11, Saturday - December 18, Saturday Final Exams
December 18, Saturday Last Day of the Semester (last day for academic activity)
December 23, Thursday Fall 2021 Grades Due
December 31, Friday December Degree Date

All dates are subject to change.  https://registrar.cornell.edu/calendar/2021-2022