Field of Microbiology Students (FoMS)

FoMS is a student-run organization that seeks to build a strong sense of community for members of the Cornell Field of Microbiology. We host activities and events like seminars featuring prominent speakers, interdisciplinary workshops, recruitment events, game nights, departmental parties, and more!

Mission statement

We know that life as a graduate student can be very demanding and stressful. In this light, we seek to promote and celebrate scientific thought and development throughout the field of microbiology. Through these efforts, we hope to provide a social platform where students feel supported by our community.

Contact FoMS

  • President: Cab565 [at] (Calla Bush St George)
  • Vice President: kc2223 [at] (Katrina Callan)
  • Treasurer: Db766 [at] (Diana Balint)
  • GPSA Rep: Kc2223 [at] (Katrina Callan)
  • uDEIC FoMS Representative: Mb2689 [at] (Margaret Branine)
  • Social Media Correspondent: Lc978 [at] (Laura Chacon Machado)
  • Communications Chair: sm2756 [at] (Saroj Mahato)
  • FoMS Email: fomscornell [at]

Incoming Rotation Students for 2022-2023

Ta333 [at] (Tricia Alston)

Byv3 [at] (Brayan Villanova Cuevas)

Kae83 [at] cornell.ecu (Kevin England)

Arp277 [at] (Augustus Pendleton)

Br387 [at] (Brandon Reyes-Chavez)

Ddt43 [at] (Daniel Tetreault)

Fvt6 [at] (Facundo Torres)

Jy642 [at] (Jaiwei Yang)


Current Graduate Students

a window with a drawing of a microbe that the sunlight shines through

Dr. Esther Angert Lab

  • CAB565 [at] (Calla Bush St. George)
  • EMW247 [at] (Emily Wollmuth) 

Dr. Hector Aguilar-Carreno Lab

  • BJK238 [at] (Benjamin Kaza)

Dr. Ilana Brito Lab

  • DB766 [at] (Diana Baliant)
  • HZ242 [at] (Hao Zhou) 

Dr. Dan Buckley Lab

  • SJM389 [at] (Sean Murphy)
  • Ew443 [at] (Angie Wang)


Dr. Pamela Chang Lab

  • KPM67 [at] (Kien Malarney)


Dr. Josh Chappie Lab

  • AQB3 [at] (Anthony Bui)
  • MCA82 [at] (Myfanwy Adams)


Dr. Tobias Doerr Lab

  • TSC85 [at] (Trevor Cross)
  • ANM247 [at] (Andrew Murtha)
  • NS646 [at] (Nadia Nikulin)
  • MA2229 [at] (Manuela Obando)


Dr. Heather Feaga Lab

  • KC2223 [at] (Katrina Callan)
  • HH654 [at] (Hye-Rim Hong)
  • CRP86 [at] (Cassidy Prince)


Dr. Anthony Hay Lab

  • MA855 [at] (Mohamed Aldhuhoori)


Dr. John Helmann Lab

  • BH527 [at] (Bixi He)
  • CHS233 [at] (Caroline Steingard)
  • JRW386 [at] (Jessica Willdigg)


Dr. Tory Hendry Lab

  • KLH276 [at] (Kathryn Herr)
  • VAS75 [at] (Vivianna Sanchez)

Dr. Ian Hewson Lab

  • JEQ364 [at] (Jordan Rede)


Dr. Ailong Ke Lab

  • GS683 [at] (Gabe Schuler)
  • Xt64 [at] (Ellie Tan)

Dr. Teresa Pawlowska Lab

  • MB2689 [at] (Margaret Branine)
  • Djt82 [at] (Delia Tota)


Dr. Joseph Peters Lab

  • ARC326 [at] (Alberto Correa)
  • SH2427 [at] (Shan-Chi Hsieh)
  • RJW275 [at] (Robert Wingo)
  • Lc978 [at] (Laura Chacon Machado)


Dr. Luis Schang Lab

  • CMM569 [at] (Chloe Murell)


Dr. Jeogmin Song Lab

  • SM2756 [at] (Saroj Mahato)


Dr. David Russell Lab

  • LJ279 [at] (Luana Johnston)

Dr. Brian VanderVen Lab

  • RAF277 [at] (Racheal Fieweger)
  • EKR44 [at] (Emma Roszkowski)


Dr. Kelsi Sandoz Lab

  • Jdd232 [at] (Joee Denis)

Dr. Andrew Moeller Lab

  • Aal88 [at] (Abigail Landers)

Dr. Gary Whittaker Lab

  • Cm764 [at] (Carolina Menchaca)

Dr. Liz Kellogg Lab

  • Rds278 [at] (Richard Schargel)