Discover CALS

See how our current work and research is bringing new thinking and new solutions to some of today's biggest challenges.

CALS Kathy Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award

Office Managing the Award Process: Office of Academic Programs

Date of Announcement: Early January

Deadline for Submission: Early February

Application: CALS Kathy Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award Application

Eligibility: Nominees for the CALS Kathy Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award must be CALS faculty or academic staff. Award winners are ineligible for subsequent nomination within a five-year period. A list of past winners will be sent to the nominators.

Specifics: The CALS Kathy Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award recognizes members of the CALS faculty or academic staff who have made significant contributions toward creating and/or fostering a positive environment for people of diverse backgrounds (African American, American Indian, Asian American, and Latino{a}).

Kathy Berggren was a faculty member in CALS with a passion for developing engaging curricula and empowering students. She was adviser to student groups including the Association for Women in Communication, FACES (Facts, Advocacy and Control of Epileptic Seizures), Help a Life Organization and the Touchtones a cappella group. She served on many department, college and university committees, including co-chair of the CALS Diversity Committee. She was a past board member of WVBR radio station and of the Association for Women in Communication, and she was a fellow for the Center for Outreach and Engagement, where she led a project to design a disability awareness program for middle school students. Kathy was involved in many advocacy efforts in Ithaca, including as a parent advocate for the Ithaca City School District.

Nominees must demonstrate promotion of diversity within their teaching, research and/or extension program(s).

Presented at: Dean's Awards Dinner

Previous Awardees of the CALS Kathy Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award Since 2001

Year Awardee


Marianne E. Krasny, Natural Resources


Herbert W. Gottfried, Landscape Architecture


Joe M. Regenstein, Food Science


Jane Mt. Pleasant, Horticulture


Alice N. Pell, Animal Science


Cindy L. Van Es, Applied Economics and Management


Carl A. Batt, Food Science


Karim-Aly S. Kassam, Natural Resources


Angela Gonzales, Development Sociology


Kari Richards, Agricultural Sciences

2017 Catherine Thompson, Office of Academic and Diversity Initiatives
2018 Bryan Duff, Development Sociology
2019 Connie Yuan, Communication