Discover CALS

See how our current work and research is bringing new thinking and new solutions to some of today's biggest challenges.

The CALS Alumni Association (CALSAA) hosted the Outstanding Alumni and Faculty Awards banquet on Nov. 22, 2019, recognizing seven alumni and two faculty for their professional and volunteer achievements.

These annual awards honor alumni who have achieved professional success, demonstrated leadership on behalf of the college and university, and made significant contributions toward the betterment of society.

“At CALS, we strive to leave the world a better place than we found it,” said Kathryn J. Boor ‘80, the Ronald P. Lynch Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. “These alumni reflect that mission, contributing their time, resources and invaluable expertise to help improve their own communities and the world at large.”

During the ceremony, CALSAA also surprised Dean Boor with an Outstanding Alumni Award to recognize the tremendous impact she’s had on the college, as well as her numerous professional accomplishments. Dean Boor will complete her term as the Ronald P. Lynch Dean of CALS in June 2020.

Recipients of the 2019 Outstanding Alumni Awards:

  • Peggy Koenig ‘78, chair of Abry Partners, LLC, a private equity investment firm focused on investing in the media, communications, information and business services industries. She is a member of the Cornell Board of Trustees, where she chairs the Research and Innovation Committee.
  • Jessica Lattman ’90 and David Rosenberg ’89, MD ’93, who operate Manhattan Facial Surgery Suites in Manhattan. Lattman specializes in oculoplastic surgery and is a leading expert in cosmetic and reconstructive eye surgery, while Rosenberg specializes in cosmetic surgery. They host numerous Cornell alumni events in their home in Scarsdale, NY.
  • Mark Sellew ’78 and Lisa Preger Sellew ’79, MBA ’82, run Prides Corner Farms, one of the largest nurseries in the Northeast. With more than 500 employees, they are the largest agricultural employer in the state of Connecticut.
  • Kathryn J. Boor ’80, the Ronald P. Lynch Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Dean Boor was the first female faculty member in the Department of Food Science and the first woman to serve as chair.

Recipient of the 2018 Young Alumni Achievement Award:

  • Daniel Schwartz ’01, co-chairman of Restaurant Brands International, the parent company of Burger King, Popeyes and Tim Hortons brands. He also co-manages 3G Capital, a global, New York-based investment firm.

Recipient of the 2019 Young Alumni Achievement Award:

  • Nathan Connell ’01, clinical chief of hematology at Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital in Boston and a member of the active staff at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Connell is the chair of the Cornell University Council.

Recipient of the 2019 Rising Star Faculty Award:

  • Alireza Abbaspourrad is the Yongkeun Joh Assistant Professor of Food Chemistry and Ingredient Technology in the Department of Food Science. The Abbaspourrad Lab has over 30 members and includes a diversity of projects, such as work with microfluidics, surface chemistry and structural emulsions.

Recipient of the 2019 Outstanding Faculty Member:

  • Bruce V. Lewenstein is a professor of science communication in the Department of Communication. He is also the chair of the Department of Science and Technology Studies in the College of Arts & Sciences, as well as a faculty-elected trustee.

Keep Exploring

hands hold black ashes


Johannes Lehmann: Leading the Soil Carbon Revolution
Johannes Lehmann, School of Integrative Plant Science, Soil and Crop Sciences, is leading a revolution. Over the past two decades, he has been instrumental in overturning a long-held scientific belief regarding the fundamental nature of soil...
  • Atkinson Center
  • Department of Global Development
  • School of Integrative Plant Science
a screenshot of a zoom meeting with 12 participants


Two CALS students selected as 2020 Cargill Global Scholars
Green is majoring in Animal Science, and Miller is majoring in International Agriculture and Rural Development. The Cargill Global Scholars Program is a distinctive international scholarship initiative that began in 2013, and it offers a...
  • Animal Science
  • Department of Global Development
  • Agriculture