Discover CALS

See how our current work and research is bringing new thinking and new solutions to some of today's biggest challenges.

CALS Louis and Edith Edgerton Career Teaching Award

The award was established in 1980 and is presented annually to honor a meritorious and senior faculty member of the College who has, throughout a long and continuous career in CALS, provided outstanding teaching and advising to students.

There are several considerations for this award:

  • Years of teaching
  • Continuity of service to teaching (at least one course per calendar year)
  • Excellence in teaching (formal and informal evidence of quality and innovation, demonstrated primarily in undergraduate courses)
  • Commitment to students (evidence of instruction that guides them in their search for knowledge)
  • Scholarly self-renewal (evidence of effort to make available to students up-to-date knowledge related to the field of expertise)

A plaque in recognition of this career award is located on the mezzanine in Roberts Hall. Additionally, a monetary award is made to the department of the recipient to be used for activities and resources that enhance, strengthen or improve instructional capabilities of the department's teaching faculty.

  • Office Managing the Award Process: Office of Academic Programs, contact: Christina Schmidt (cms536 [at]
  • Date of Announcement: Early March
  • Deadline for Submission: March 31, 2023 (use this online form)
  • Eligibility: The Louis and Edith Edgerton Career Teaching Award is presented to a faculty member with at least 25 years of teaching at Cornell.
  • Presented at: Dean's Awards Ceremony, Summer

Nominating Process

Using this online form, nominators submit information about the nominee (name, title, department, current appointment: percent teaching, research and outreach) and upload a single PDF that includes the following:

1. SUMMARY: A nominating statement (maximum of three pages) that:

  • Confirms their eligibility for this award and presents evidence of the nominee’s commitment to excellence in teaching and mentoring.
  • Explains how the nominee has demonstrated a career-long dedication to teaching and advising students by continuously providing engaging instruction.
  • Presents evidence of participation in the scholarship of teaching and learning (e.g. any publications about teaching and learning, committee service related to teaching, participation in educational groups within professional societies, participation at teaching workshops/conferences or other professional development, any previous educational awards).
  • Details use of innovative, evidence-based pedagogy and impact in mentoring.

2. TEACHING: A table indicating teaching experience, highlighting the nominees primary teaching responsibilities (include course titles), years taught, and approximate numbers of students per course for the last 10 years. In addition, please include written comments from students and information from course evaluations.

3. LETTERS OF SUPPORT: A letter of support from the department chair and up to three additional letters of support, including at least one from a colleague familiar with the nominee’s teaching (may also include letters from students). Support letters should focus on adding perspective to the nomination, not restating accomplishments and recognitions.

4. TEACHING CV: CV (maximum of three pages) focusing on relevant teaching experiences and accomplishments.

Previous Awardees of The Louis and Edith Edgerton Career Teaching Award Since 1980



Robert H. Foote, Animal Science


Adrian M. Srb, Genetics and Development


Russell D. Martin, Communication


John G. Seeley, Floriculture & Ornamental Horticulture


William C. Kelly, Vegetable Crops


Ari van Tienhoven, Poultry and Avian Sciences


Dana C. Goodrich, Jr., Agricultural Economics


Kenneth L. Robinson, Agricultural Economics


Richard G. Warner, Animal Science


Robert G. Mower, Floriculture and Ornamental Horticulture


Richard D. Aplin, Agricultural Economics


Edgar M. Raffensperger, Entomology


Daniel G. Sisler, Agricultural Economics


Stanley A. Zahler, Genetics and Development


A. Jane Gibson, Biochemistry, Molecular and Cell Biology


Richard J. McNeil, Natural Resources


George J. Conneman, Agricultural, Resource, and Managerial Economics


Harold F. Hintz, Animal Science


Leonard D. Topoleski, Fruit and Vegetable Science


Gene A. German, Agricultural, Resource, and Managerial Economics


Wayne A. Sinclair, Plant Pathology


Richard A. Baer, Natural Resources


Douglas A. Haith, Biological and Environmental Engineering


Richard B. Root, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology


Brian O. Earle, Communication


Eddy L. LaDue, Applied Economics and Management


E. John Pollak, Animal Science


William C. Ghiorse, Microbiology


Ronald M. Harris-Warrick, Neurobiology and Behavior


Carl D. Hopkins, Neurobiology and Behavior


Elizabeth D. Earle, Plant Breeding and Genetics


George W. Hudler, Plant Pathology and Plant-Microbe Biology


James P. Lassoie, Natural Resources


Thomas D. Fox, Molecular Biology and Genetics


John Parks, Animal Science

2015Richard Harrison, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
2016David Levitsky, Nutritional Science
2017Tom Owens, School of Integrative Plant Sciences, Plant Biology section
2018Bruce Johnson, Neurobiology and Behavior
2019Jim Blankenship, Molecular Biology and Genetics
2020Dennis Miller, Food Science
2021Cindy Van Es, Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management
2022Mark Wysocki, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences