Discover CALS

See how our current work and research is bringing new thinking and new solutions to some of today's biggest challenges.

CALS Kathy Druckman Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award

Office Managing the Award Process: Diversity & Inclusion Committee and the Office of Academic Programs

Date of Announcement: Late March

Deadline for Submission: April 30 (download application)

Eligibility: Nominees for the CALS Kathy Druckman Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award must be CALS faculty or academic staff. Award winners are ineligible for subsequent nomination within a five-year period. 

Specifics: The CALS Kathy Druckman Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award recognizes members of the CALS faculty or academic staff who have made significant contributions toward creating and/or fostering a positive environment for people of diverse backgrounds (African American, American Indian, Asian American, and Latinx).

Kathy Druckman Berggren was a faculty member in CALS with a passion for developing engaging curricula and empowering students. She was adviser to student groups including the Association for Women in Communication, FACES (Facts, Advocacy and Control of Epileptic Seizures), Help a Life Organization and the Touchtones a cappella group. She served on many department, college and university committees, including co-chair of the CALS Diversity Committee. She was a past board member of WVBR radio station and of the Association for Women in Communication, and she was a fellow for the Center for Outreach and Engagement, where she led a project to design a disability awareness program for middle school students. Kathy was involved in many advocacy efforts in Ithaca, including as a parent advocate for the Ithaca City School District.

Nominees must demonstrate promotion of diversity within their teaching, research and/or extension program(s).

Presented at: Dean's Faculty Awards Celebration

Previous Awardees of the CALS Kathy Druckman Berggren Diversity and Inclusion Award Since 2001



Marianne E. Krasny, Natural Resources


Herbert W. Gottfried, Landscape Architecture


Joe M. Regenstein, Food Science


Jane Mt. Pleasant, Horticulture


Alice N. Pell, Animal Science


Cindy L. Van Es, Applied Economics and Management


Carl A. Batt, Food Science


Karim-Aly S. Kassam, Natural Resources


Angela Gonzales, Development Sociology


Kari Richards, Agricultural Sciences

2017Catherine Thompson, Office of Academic and Diversity Initiatives
2018Bryan Duff, Development Sociology
2019Connie Yuan, Communication
2020Annalisa Raymer, Global Development
2021Jennifer Majka, Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management
2022Jeff McCaffrey, Office of Undergraduate Biology